Contents
Introduction
Chapter 1:
Internet Art
Chapter 2:
Institutions
Chapter 3:
Digital Weakness
Conclusion
Table of Figures
Footnotes
Bibliography
Glossary
James Hayes' art website


Internet Resources:

Art ©Safari, http://www.moma.org/onlineprojects/artsafari/safari_menu.html, November 2001

Arthouse Multimedia Centre for the Arts, http://www.arthouse.ie, November 2001

Benjamin, Ben, Superbad, http://www.superbad.com, October 2001

CIRCA Art Magazine website, http://www.recirca.com/, November 2001

dART™, fine-art.com website, http://www.fine-art.com/, November 2001

Dyers and silk painters discussion forum, http://pluto.beseen.com/boardroom/j/52242, November 2001

Goodies to Go ™, March 26, 2001--Newsletter #124, http://www.htmlgoodies.com/letters/124.html, November 2001

James Baird Gallery, http://www.jamesbaird.com/, November 2001

Jingu Shrine in Ise, http://jin.jcic.or.jp/atlas/architecture/arc09.html, November 2001

Johnson, George, "From Two Small Nodes, a Mighty Web Has Grown", The New York Times on the web, October 12th 1999

Lewandowski & Gould, Brainrinse website, http://www.brainrinse.co.uk/, October 2001

Matisse Net, http://www.matisse.net/, December 2001

Mutant Materials in Contemporary Design, May 25-August 22, 1995 http://www.moma.org/exhibitions/mutantmaterials/homepage.html

Napier, Mark, Shredder, http://www.potatoland.org/shredder/, October 2001

Napier, Mark, Potatoland, http://www.potatoland.org/, October 2001

Pearce, David, "Brave New World? A Defense of Paradise-Engineering", http://www.huxley.net/, December 2001

RAND (Research and Development), http://www.rand.org/, October 2001

Rothenberg, Jeff, "Ensuring the Longevity of Digital Information", http://www.clir.org/pubs/archives/ensuring.pdf, November 2001

SANS Flash Report - Melissa virus, March 28, 1999, "What was the Melissa virus and what can we learn from it?", http://www.sans.org/newlook/resources/IDFAQ/What_Melissa_teaches_us.htm, December 2001

Search Engine Watch, http://www.searchenginewatch.com, December 2001

September 11th Web Archive, http://september11.archive.org/, November 2001

Steinke, Darcey, blindspot, http://adaweb.walkerart.org/project/blindspot/, October 2001

Techno Computing Central Articles, "Data storage units", http://www.mverdee.f2s.com/html/datastorage.htm, December 2001

The Artifact Artists' Database http://www.artifact.ie, November 2001

The Computer Museum History Center - Timeline of Computer History http://www.computerhistory.org/timeline/topics/computers.page, January 2002

The Digital Library Federation, http://www.diglib.org/, November 2001

The Internet Archive, http://www.archive.org/index.html, November 2001

The Internet Society, "A Brief History of the Internet", http://www.isoc.org/internet-history/, October 2001

The Long Now Foundation, http://www.longnow.org/, October 2001

The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, http://www.metmuseum.org/

The Museum of Modern Art, New York, http://www.moma.org/, November 2001

The Mystery Writers' Forum, http://www.zott.com/mysforum/, November 2001

The Sculpture Center, Cleveland Ohio, http://www.sculpturecenter.org/, November 2001

Vesna, Victoria, Bodies © INCorporated, http://www.bodiesinc.ucla.edu/, October 2001

VITA - Professional Practice for Artists Information Guide, http://www.arthouse.ie/VITA/, November 2001

Web Monkey, http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/guides/glossary/, December 2001

What Is, http://www.whatis.techtarget.com/, December 2001

Zakon, Robert, "Hobbes' Internet Timeline" © 1993 - 98, http://www.isoc.org/zakon/Internet/History/HIT.html, October 2001

 

Paper Publications:

Gleick, James, Chaos: Making a New Science, Viking Penguin Inc, USA, 1987

Huxley, Aldous, Brave New World, 1932

Rush, Michael, New Media in Late 20th-Century Art, Thames & Hudson Ltd., London, 1999

Rothenberg, Jeff, "Ensuring the Longevity of Digital Information", Scientific American Vol 272, Number 1, pp. 42-7

Vause, W.A., The Art of Welding, Argus Books Ltd., England, 1985, p. 7

by James Hayes